Record Store Day April 22nd – Org Music Brings Sun Records, Sun Ra, Mike Watt, Dexter Gordon, Hawkwind

Org Music is going off this year for Record Store Day (April 22nd) bringing some cuts to vinyl that have never been on vinyl before. Sophisticated giant Dexter Gordon‘s 1967 shows in Copenhagen, some rare late 60s early 70s Sun Ra and his Arkestra, and perhaps the most well known recording of time travelling sorcerers Hawkwind featuring a young Lemmy “Motorhead” Kilmeister before failing the drug test in perhaps the druggiest band of all time.

As if that weren’t enough they’ve also got a record-store employee curated set of Sun Records cuts, and  a team up of Balkan and Californian musicians featuring Mike Watt performing each others songs, and inspired by Stanislav Zabic. (we got to preview this one and let me tell you it is tough!). Limited quantities, go out and get ’em crate diggers.

Notes from the press release:

Dexter Gordon – Walk The Blues

During a two-day period of July 20-21, 1967 tenor-saxophonist Dexter Gordon and his quartet recorded multiple albums’ worth of material at one of Gordon’s favorite venues, the legendary Jazzhus Montmartre in Copenhagen. This record is pulled from the second night of recording, and finds Dexter in an expansive, relaxed mood in from of an appreciative audience The results are undoubtedly among his finest European recordings.

 Walk The Blues has never been released before on vinyl and is pressed own audiophile-grade 180 gram clear vinyl at Pallas, limited to 2,000 copies worldwide.

Side A:

1 “Blues Walk”

2 “I Guess I’ll Have To Hang My Tears Out To Dry”

Side B:

1 “Love For Sale”

Sun Ra – Janus

Never before released on vinyl, Sun Ra’s Janus is a compilation of rare material from Sun Ra and his Arkestra, drawing from tapes recorded between 1963 and 1970, in live and studio performances.

Remastered and pressed on yellow and black swirl color vinyl at Pallas, you can hear this space-age shaman conjuring up a variety of styles and visceral, ever-changing moods. The pressing is limited to just 2,500 copies worldwide.

Side A:

1 “Island In The Sun”

2 “The Invisible Shield”

3 “Janus”

Side B:

1 “Velvet”

2 “Joy”

BALKANS-PEDRO FOUR-WAY (Featuring Mike Watt)

“this project was inspired by (research scientist) stanislav zabic and is made up of contributions from artists in the balkans as well as from san pedro, california. also, everyone covered everyone else’s stuff to make it even more of a trip. the knowing is in the doing!” —on bass, Mike Watt 

This one-of-a-kind release for RSD 2017 has the legendary Mike Watt with his band The Secondmen teaming up with three likeminded bands from Zagreb, Skopje, and Belgrade to cover each other’s songs. They all share a common ethos and a deep connection to the punk rock and post-punk tradition of their respective countries.

Housed in a gatefold 7 “ jacket and limited to 2,000 copies worldwide, half of the pressing is on green color vinyl, randomly packed and shipped.

This release features four never-before-heard recordings, and ORG Music has helped bring it into being exclusively for Record Store Day 2017.

Side A:

1 Thee Melomen – “Bez Prevoda”

2 Vasko Atanasoski – “Cosmic Ted”

Side B:

1 Discipline A Kitschme – “No One”

2 Mike Watt + The Secondmen – “Do Not”

This new anthology compiles some of the best recordings from space-rock pioneers Hawkwind’s earliest and, arguably most compelling material. Pressed in swirled color vinyl from audiophile experts Pallas in Germany and limited to 3,000 copies worldwide, it includes new, original packaging artwork, and features some rare and alternate versions of songs from the band’s studio albums of the era.

Side A:

A1 “Silver Machine” (Live at Roundhouse)

A2 “Master of the Universe”

A3 Lord of Light”

A4 “Urban Guerilla”

Side B: 

B1 “Space is Deep” (Live)

B2 “Web Weaver”

B3 “Lost Johnny”

B4 “Brainbox Pollution”

Really Rock ‘Em Right: Sun Records Curated by Record Store Day, Volume 4

For 2017, ORG Music has teamed up with fellow music lovers at the best stores to put together a unique compilation of some of the most prime Sun Records tracks from their glory years. The release is also a collaboration in sponsorship with Tito’s Handmade Vodka, who designed the album’s dust sleeve.

Curated by record store employees, these tracks are chosen from the legendary Sun Records company catalogue, and this one-of-a-kind pressing is limited to 4,000 copies worldwide, featuring Johnny Cash, Howlin’ Wolf, Jerry Lee Lewis, and more.

Track Listing:

Side A:

A1 Howlin’ Wolf – “How Many More Years”

A2 Big Memphis Ma Rainey – “Baby No No”

A3 Roy Orbison – “A Cat Called Domino”

A4 Jerry Lee Lewis – “Milkshake Mademoiselle”

A5 Ike Turner & His Kings of Rhythm – “Matchbox”

A6 Lou Sargent – “Ridin’ The Boogie”

Side B: 

B1 Johnny Cash – “Get Rhythm”

B2 Warren Smith – “Ubangi Stomp”

B3 Carl Perkins – “Put Your Clothes On”

B4 Billy Love – “Juiced”

B5 James Cotton – “My Baby”

B6 Frank Frost – “Jelly Roll King”